What the H*** am I DOING here?!...

RonT

...OK, so I retired last year and thought multirotors would be lots 'o fun and I could wow the neighbors with some great aerial videos of them shaving their cat on their patio! How hard could it be.... hundreds of tube videos showing people no better looking than me effortlessly piloting their quads over quaint sunrise villages with multi-colored leds lighting the way to precise landings. Having no rc experience and being slightly smarter than mayonnaise, I realized I needed to start cheap & easy, so walked out of the local hobby shop with a Blade mqx under my arm and the shopkeepers mantra "...it flys itself!" ringing in my ears. Two weeks later, I'm just beginning to understand that left reallys means right when avoiding the neighbors roof, and learned that close range hovering at eye level in a breeze is not a good thing. So...I'm thinking most of you have been here before, and wondered how you progressed to where you are now? Any thoughts on simulators, or is is just as much flight time as possible? Any help would be appreciated! Gotta go... my wife is staring at me again with that 'how much is this going to cost' look on her face. RonT

kloner

Aerial DP
a sim is a great way to figure out orientation on a budget. At the end of the day, that's whats so had about em since your butt isn't in a seat looking forward.

I've been getting that look for 20 yeas, it never goes away, you just learn to ignore it like there voice

ChrisViperM