Is your dealer a Hobby Shop or Professional Partner?

photobobga

Inquiring minds what to know. I'm having a struggle with my local dealer and would like a second opinion form those that are in this as a commercial application. I have been very local to the dealer in Atlanta and have purchased a large majority of products from them. Mail order sites can offer the obvious benefits, but as a commercial photographer I have always tried to support those that can support me. My issue is simple.... when I purchase items from this 'hobby shop' and have had warranty issues they will give me the web site of the manufacture and wish me well. I've had a new Futaba radio fail and now a very well known, and expensive Lipo battery fail. The dealer has stated that the manufacture warrants these items and I should contact them. I've also purchase a new set of motors for my multirotor aircraft that this dealer private labels and promised that they are the same as all the others. Within two weeks all six motors failed, they did refund the purchase.

What does your dealer offer when you are dependent on this technology to produce an income and something fails that you have purchased from them and then grounds your service? Do they exchange, offer to ship your item off for service, or tell you to 'go pound sand'?

This local hobby shop's staff has offered great advice in the past. They also state that 80% of their business comes from professional clients.

Thank you in advance for your reply,
Bob

Langdale

In the UK, the contract you have is with the "hobby shop". This is who you bought the item off, therefore they are responsible. I don't know how things are in the USA but if you bought a Ford car from a Ford dealer, you wouldn't go to Ford for any faults, you'd take it back to the dealer to sort out.

Sounds like your "hobby shop" are quite good and helpful when taking your money but are s**t at taking responsibility.

Peter