Hi from Liverpool in the UK

Mick Koi

Hi all im Mick from Liverpool, UK...

Ive only just signed up to the forum, with the hope of learning as much as i can about all things that fly remotely!...

Iv recently bought a Phantom 2, with Gimbal and GoPro and I'm hooked already, I'm exploring the possibilities of applying it to a business format and trying to possibly earn a small living from it, therefore ill be asking all kinds of questions, some of which may be laughable to most of you, but crucial to the likes of myself being a total newbie to it all, so expect some quite silly questions haha

A little more about me, well I'm 32, hobbies include Falconry, all things hunting (as limited as that is in the UK!), travelling, keeping fit, Muay Thai, BJJ, weights etc, walking and the great outdoors and being a super dad to my 3 year old to top it all of... ; )

That'll do for now i think...

Droider

Drone Enthusiast
Hi Mick and welcome to MRF.

I am sure you will find it a nice and friendly environment to learn and have questions answered, what ever they be. We all have to start somewhere.

As for earning a living I think that ia the biggest justifier of all to your self and her in doors to shell out for one of these things, although it is a bit earlier easier these days to blow a little bit, like you have or a LOT. Like you will! That is unless you are really strict with yourself! You will need to find a real niche market to make anything from it or risk a lot with the off chance you may strike it lucky. There is a growing number of businesses out there that are expanding and may have openings for pilots in the near future but if you have just started thats a long way down the road. CAA permissions will be needed for 1 and thats going to cost you in monetary terms £1300 isn and three days for your life + the writing of an OM and then all the gaffing to get the bit of paper to say you can fly!