Help with Building a CineStar 8 (& Copters in General)

Brian Iannone

I'm new. *Really* new...
Hello everyone. My name is Brian and this is my first post here. I'm new to both this forums and multirotor copters in general. So, nice to meet you all.
smile.gif

I am a photographer and filmmaker. Recently in the world of cinematography, octocopters have become increasingly popular for aerial shooting. I personally like the idea quite a bit as its much less expensive and much more convenient than renting out an actual helicopter (to say the least).

So, I would like to build an octocopter. Before I begin though, allow me to say that I know nothing about RC devices and have no experience flying helicopters or multirotor copters, so I apologize if I use incorrect terminology.

I would like to use a CineStar 8 frame and build an octocopter by either purchasing a build-your-own kit from Quadrocopter.us or individual components and assembling it myself. I liked the idea of Quadrocopter's ready-to-fly kits, however as with most products that come ready-to-use, I assume that there's some overhead cost in the convenience of having it preassembled. So I'd like to avoid that.

Here are my questions:

1. I see that Quadrocopter's CineStar 8 kits uses QC3328 motors. The specifications list this octocopter as being able to lift approximately 2,000 grams, or 4.4 pounds, of weight. Is there any way to get this octocopter to lift a heavier payload, either by using different motors or by reducing the throttle while flying? If so, what would you recommend? I plan on using a Blackmagic Cinema Camera (weighing 5.1 pounds) with this copter.

2. Quadrocopter's CineStar 8 octocopters come with MikroKopter flight control system. I've heard quite a bit about DJI's WooKong-M. Is one better than the other? And also, is it possible to install WooKong-M into one of Quadrocopter's build-it-yourself CineStar 8 kits?