DJI Phantom Vision 2 - bad height readings

ALMPilot

My DJI Phantom Vision 2 is giving me some bad reading for the height. The compass calibration was really messed up when I got the quadcopter.

I am at sea level and and the height reading on the iPhone app will tell me that the height is -3m at ground level. The last few flights I have seen -8m about 18m off the ground. I am new to quadcopters, this is my first. Does anyone know what I can do to fix this?

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
Re-calibrate the compass. I believe the height readings come from GPS. Do you have full GPS lock before taking off? (ie no red lights) GPS is only accurate to within a few meters also so expect some deviation. Does it record the home position correctly when taking off (flashing green light I think)? The height is based on the distance from the home position. Are there buildings or structures nearby?

A height reading of -8m at 18m altitude does seem incorrect. How many times did it give these readings?

Again, recalibrate the compass and see if that helps.

Tahoe Ed

I have had some readings that were not completely accurate but when I tested RTH, it landed perfectly. The altitude is more than the GPS it is also the Baro in the Naza. If I am flying at 150m, +/- 10m is not that big of a deal for me. I would do the Advanced Calibration of the IMU and recalibrate the compass when you get ready to fly. Other than that I would look at the altitude as a relative figure +/- 10%.

Last edited by a moderator:

ALMPilot

Re-calibrate the compass. I believe the height readings come from GPS. Do you have full GPS lock before taking off? (ie no red lights) GPS is only accurate to within a few meters also so expect some deviation. Does it record the home position correctly when taking off (flashing green light I think)? The height is based on the distance from the home position. Are there buildings or structures nearby?