Oh great... is this true? (registration)

Pumpkinguy

My question still stands.....
So I register everything ....
I go down to the end of the Cleveland Hopkins main runways and fly around causing a near aerial collision.
I get scared... land put it into my car and drive away before the authorities reach me......
How will the identify me?
"white" "small" "quadcoper" with "Green & Red flashing lights"?

Maybe every uav over a certain weight will need (as part of the registration process will "require") a transponder. That is the only way I can see them enforcing anything.

Old Man

Guys,

I work in the field that's driving the miniaturized transponder groups and I can say that as of now there's nothing available that we can afford, unless you feel ~3500.00/ unit before peripherals is affordable. They are also power hogs. They have to be to broadcast with the ranges ATC needs to see them. None of the previous addresses discrete transponder codes or altitude reporting. It's available in small packages, but it ain't cheap. I use them now in other stuff. Sage Tech makes some of the smallest out there, including ADS-B types, where the price goes up again. They will fit, but at an unaffordable cost in $$ and electrical power.

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
even if you have the electric power available can the current generation electronics function with all of that RF power being beamed from onboard the aircraft?

scotth

I didn't see the newser but was there any mention of user/registration fees? Since we know the FAA is broke, it occurs to me that this may be their way of funding the UAS office, riding on the notion of air safety.

Bartman

I didn't see the newser but was there any mention of user/registration fees? Since we know the FAA is broke, it occurs to me that this may be their way of funding the UAS office, riding on the notion of air safety.
i thought that that went without saying?!!? lol

Old Man