Should I keep investing in 5.8ghz video?

Rehost

Ok so I tried repositioning the antenna to the too plate and no luck. Antenna up I still get static about 500 feet out. Seems to be one SPECIFIC area that causes it (a home) You can see the home (brown house) in my video. That's why I don't bother going further.

I think the antennas could be the issue. Or that house is radiating some 5.8ghz (wireless-n?)

http://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=plcp&v=NRvkVPHnX9Y

kloner

Aerial DP
Wireless cable boxes use 5.8. Router/networks can turn on 5.8 to transmit. Portable phones like landline types use it

Are you saying you've only flown in one spot, ever? Might try another spot

Rehost

Yes that's what in saying hahaha

I'm a total noob this is my second time doing FPV. And 4th time flying hehehe

Rehost

Ok Kloner you convinced me. I will stick with 5.8 and get the circular antenna and eventually upgrade to a tracker. Money that won't go to waste if ever I want to change system. I will also throw on a spironet antenna like you suggested on the rig.

Very ballsy flying BTW, nice place to go duck hunting :)

Dan

kloner

Aerial DP
That is honker heaven, it sits across from Cibola Az, last major fed refuge before the birds make it to Mexico and are on there own from there

Benchmark

This is a 2km video i made on 5.8 ghz video. I made sure all components are well spaced out on the frame. Even though this video is with a Diversity receiver i could go 1.5 km easily with the normal predator V2 goggles too.

Last edited by a moderator:

Rehost

There is a big difference in image quality from 2.4 to 5.8, or is that the compression?

I can't believe how clear your video is. You definitely have a winning setup. I'd personally crap my pants flying that far away! Love the OSD, I ordered the RVOSD and hoping to get the same results :)