X8 Thrust Vectoring

maxwelltub

So I am building an X8 and I am trying to do some research on proper thrust vectoring. I know that some people have talked a bit about tilting their motors slightly to give better yaw authority. The new GD-X8 motor mounts allow for thrust vector adjustment. Any of the experts care to chime in on this.

gtranquilla

RadioActive
I am no expert but please permit me to share what I have found so far....
http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/AngleAdapter.
I have no idea if this is really necessary for an X8 though.
There is also a pdf available that seems to explain it all on the Freefly Forum about this entitled "Mathematical Dynamics of a Quadrocopter represented in the Special Eucledian Group SE3." but I am not sure how to upload it from my PC to MRF!

It seems that better yaw authority can also help to tighten up a set course bearing so that the MR does not randomly yaw cw or ccw.... it also helps to balance the current draw between the motors on a single plane.... in your case your lower motors will probably draw less current anyway.

So I am building an X8 and I am trying to do some research on proper thrust vectoring. I know that some people have talked a bit about tilting their motors slightly to give better yaw authority. The new GD-X8 motor mounts allow for thrust vector adjustment. Any of the experts care to chime in on this.

FerdinandK