Just 2 questions

skipper1

My first question;
I have an F330, it's a rocket and love it. I'm a terrible pilot. What are some exercises I can do to become a better pilot. I have the Phoenix flight simulator, 10,000 helis & planes and ONE quad. So, I fly the Gaui until I get bored and I fly my F330 every chance I get.

Second question;
This little quad doesn't have to get very far away before you lose orientation. I want to add some bright LED's. Red on the back, white or blue for the front. What are the best & brightest LED's and how do I wire them up? Do I need an extra battery? I'm using an AR8000 and have AUX 3 available, I would like to hook them up to a switch.

Any guidance is appreciated.
Skip

mailman35

i flew close for a while till i got used to the orentation. now i can go out quite far just by LOS. i got leds but have yet to ever get around to putting them on.

skipper1

I normally stay pretty close, this part of the country is flat and I've found that even a 10mph breeze can make that quad drift off pretty quick. Mailman, can you recommend any exercises or a magic pill?

mailman35

fly fly fly, its what i did, i went from crashing every time out, to crashing every few times out, to crashing once every few weeks.
and ive flown in up to a 12mph wind w/o much of an issue. the object is to fly and not just hover. because hovering != flying.
also when flying when the quad is far away i try to know where it is. and where its going after i just made x amount of a turn, etc.

Razzil

Practice and Patience!!!
After crashing my quad multiple times and having to MacGyver my landing gear each time, I went out and purchased a Blade mQX BNF (Bind andFly).
I was able to use my same controller (DX8) that I got comfortable with, and you can literally not damage the thing.
I'm better at normal orientation now but I've yet to bank turns successfully and return flying backwards.