Hi from South Yorkshire, UK

ROVguy

Hey Guys and Gals,

I just wanted to say Hi, Im a complete Newbie to Multicopters/Drones, although I have some experience with Remotely Operated Vehicles. I was wondering where exactly to start. I don't own any equipment as yet, but I do have a firm idea as to where I want to go with it... eventually. Im a keen photographer and eventually would like to expand that into Aerial Photography, however, Im wary as to jump straight in and invest ££££'s in equipment without any prior experience, or just to gradually build up. Ultimately I would like to incorporate this side of things as a service in my current business and Im aware that I will have to get the required certification (BNUC etc) to do this.... unfortunately, as I believe their legislation is a bit excessive and the course is expensive!!

Ive tried to find some local clubs, but they all seem to be tailored towards Helicopters or Airplanes, which is not something Im wanting to get into... well maybe not yet. Are there any members on here that are local to me or can give any advice?

Cheers

Rich.

Bowley

Hi Rich,
step 1, simulator, just spend hours on it, then get a cheap heli (I recommend the Esky honeybee, tough as nails and cheap to repair), you'll get all the skills you need, Its not much like ROV, well not until you start FPV, even then its just different. on the plus side, no tether to worry about.
One piece of advice, once you get confident to fly a reasonable multi, get a versatile one and focus on it (F550 Naza is probably a good suggestion). having multiple machines gets seriously overwhelming if you have a day job and/or family, other hobbies etc.
If you take it step by step with machines you'll end up spending a fortune, I would recommend putting together a cheap "beater" stick with it and master it before you loose your cash on a Cinestar etc.

Steve

ROVguy