GoPro Hero 3 black - additional FPV camera still needed ?

ChrisViperM

I am in the process of building a TBS Discovery, and while writing my shopping list I came across the choice of buying a dedicated FPV camera or just use the GoPro for LiveView.

As far as I know the GoPro 2 had problems to adjust to changing light situations, where a FPV cam is much more "flexible" with this...don't know yet how well the GoPro 3 Black is handling quick changes in light conditions.

Another thing I was thinking about was power....If the GoPro runs out of battery, it gets dark and you become basically blind, with a FPV Camera which is powerd (indirectly) through the flight LiPO pack, this should not happen, unless you didn't watch your amp draw and voltage (via OSD as I am used to do it)

Since I am new to these little FPV cams, I am wondering why we try to mount "normal" cameras with all sorts of vibration absorbing material (gel pads, ear plugs....) to the bird, and most FPV cameras are rigid mounted, like glued onto the frame....
Is there a specific reason for the different mounting methods.....???

Any light on this would greatly appreciated...

Chris

Tomstoy2

Chris, I could be totally wrong here, so take it for what it's worth, but I believe it has a lot to do with ntsc/pal not being anywhere as sensative.
Interresting question, though. One that I know I would like to know the true answer to, also.
I use a dedicated fpv camera and have it bolted down.

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
I think you addressed all the issues. the 3 main issues you use a separate fpv cam are power, light change/low light, and it is fixed to the heli as to using a gimbaled camera. I havent tried the live out on my gp3. I bought the rc shutter cord but it is just sitting here since I jhave a separate cam. what bothers me more than anything is the ultra fish eye fov. I'm going narrow. I think orientation/attitude is much more important than seeing everything. Just my opinion.

jcmonty