Advice upgrading from 3S - 4S on Custom Frame

Hood49

Hi All,

I am a beginner. However, I have been getting the hang of my quadcopter and it is fun to fly.

I bought it of a guy who has built it himself. It has a carbon frame and a Naza Lite controller. Makes it very stable for beginners in GPS Attitude Mode. When I lose control I just let it hover in order to get my orientation back.

The system is 3S and have got 2200 Mah Lipo's. Flight time is not great, about 6-8 minutes before warnings go off. So I went to the local shop here and they advised me to upgrade from 3S to 4S. They said that the engines are too small for the quad and that it is not efficient.

Indeed, I think that upgrading is a good idea, it also makes to quad more powerful and nimble.

I was a bit surprised by the price they communicated: 69 Euro per motor and 29 Euro per ESC. For 4 that adds up to 392 Euro (530 bucks). On Hobbyking and other online stores I see prices are a lot lower. Maybe not good quality stuff?

http://team-blacksheep.com/products/prod:900kv_30aesc looks like a nice kit and less expensive.

Anybody can advise me what I need I could buy to make my quad fast a nimble with a 4S system?

Quad.jpeg

photo1-1.jpg

Motopreserve

Drone Enthusiast
The jump to 4S is often a good move, but your choice depends on several factors.

What at is the current weight (without battery)? What is the weight that you will ultimately like to have the quad (camera, FPV etc?). What size props do you own? What type of ESC do you have now (often they can handle 4S, so you might not need to swap them out)?

There are plenty of decent motors that will handle the 4S batteries that are cheaper than the price you listed. Check into sunnysky - prices should be closer to $20-$30 USD.

The nano-tech batteries at hobby king are a good bang for the buck (euro).

Hood49

Thanks for your reply :tennis: