Advice for BEC / wiring from experienced AP/AV folk

crayfellow

Hi guys,

I need BEC/wiring advice. We have a pretty common scenario config-wise, so I am hoping to benefit from your experience in order to avoid unnecessary components.

Power is 6S, and I want to try to power everything from the main source.

5V
* Flight Controller servo rail (backup power)

12V
* FPV flight camera (will use video switcher between this and a GH4)
* FPV OSD and vtx
* LED Lighting

14V+
* 3-axis gimbal + controller (4S equivalent or greater)

I'm an electrical engineer so the technical aspects of this aren't the issue; there are many ways to solve this with various regulators. What I am hoping for is the most elegant solution, one that is informed by your experience.

You AP guys usually have a separate 4S for gimbal, vtx, etc., right? But if I am using the main battery, I might end up with a mess like this:

In frame
* 5V buck for FC (or equivalent via PDB)
* 12V buck for LED (or equivalent via PDB)
* Adjustable higher-current 14+V BEC wired to gimbal (is this necessary, since gimbal/controller could simply run on 6S? the idea was to isolate the gimbal and whatever is connected to it as a safety measure)

On gimbal
* 12V buck for vtx from 14+V BEC source

4 BEC's, seems like the opposite of elegance! I know the 5V and 12V buck could just be one of those PDB's with integrated BEC's, so that would be one simplification.

Also considering the flight camera should be on the frame, would you just wire that down to the vtx source switcher on the gimbal? Or is that nonstandard?

I know these are VERY basic questions with pretty obvious answers, but I'm aiming for elegance and simplicity, and I know you guys have a much better feel for that than I do right now for this application.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

stevemaller

Heavy Lifter