FPV Antenna ?

Phil550

Hi,

I'm new to this world of multirotors (and RC as well..) and have a DJI 550 / DX8 setup.
I've just received the 5.8g 200mw fpv set (Hextronic / Hobbyking) and noticed that both antennas are the same size.
I've watched several videos that say they should be different with the bigger one going on the receiver....is this right?

Cheers

Phil

Tomstoy2

These is however quite the difference in antenna types!

If you are using the black dipole antenna, like what you use on your flight transmitter, your range is going to be extremely limited!!!

There has been quite the evolution in antenna design's this year, all because of the insurgence in fpv.
What is most common now it what we call cloverleaf antenna's. Look up IBCrazy.
These are extremely good. With my 200mw vtx I have pushed out to 1/3rd mile with zero drop outs! The price is cheap.

As little as last year, the drive was to push out more transmission power, but this can affect the flight reciever and the controller, too. They produce a lot of noise, not to mention heat!
Now the drive is towards better antenna design allowing you to recieve transmission at a much greater range with less power.

Guys like Kloner are invaluable source of information, not to mention a great guy. He runs a uhf system for flight control and a pretty damn nice set up for fpv. He's experimented a hell of a lot and has learned what works and what doesn't.

There is a ton to learn, so take everything in baby steps, gather all info you can and read, read, read, , and don't be afraid to ask.

FPV is about the most fun you can have!

Last edited by a moderator:

kloner

Aerial DP
when you do it right.....