Looking for some FPV advice

Sisco

I am new to all of this, but have been reading for a month or so. I am trying to wrap my mind around it because I am ready to make the plunge, but since most of you know the waters better than I do, it's wise to check the temps prior...

I have a F450 Flamewheel with Naza FC & GPS. I will upgrade to TBS Disovery when they come back in stock). I currently use a Spektrum DX7s and an AR8000 Rx. I plan to get the EzUHF for greater range tx/rx range.

For FPV this is my thought...
GoPro2 (for FPV and recording) on my quadcopter hooked to a 1.3ghz vtx w/ antenna
Ground station with 1.3ghz rx & antenna with a splitter.

One split going to a small 7" lcd (for a friend/spotter to view) mounted on the ground station

One split going to a 5.8ghz vtx to relay wirelessly to a Fatshark Dominator with 5.8ghz rx

My plan is to be able to get some good range, even with some foilage in the way.

Advice? Ideas? Comments?

Rick

kloner

Aerial DP
it all looks good. the only thing i'd consider is the 1.3 likes to mess with the naza gps unless you mount it all high, kinda like a tv sttion looking thing. i'd probably suggest starting and trying rubber ducks antenna on the video tx.

those 100mw fatshark vtx 5.8 are only $35 and are plenty for ground station stuff. everything yo metion i have ran or am running. i like futaba better, has a true 5volt ppm. does your radio have a module you can unplug? if not, consider hooking it up like this

http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/12

ITechie

Kloner...new guy so apologies for semi-related question. I am getting a F450 Flamewheel with Naza FC & GPS like he is. Right now I am trying to pick the right radio for now (flying + GPS)...and future (AV & FPV)...I also like Futaba from my R/C Car racing days...Are only certain Futabas easily changed from today 2.4Ghz just flying to future (change radio from 2.4Ghz to ??) for the range needed for FPV?