I'm new to prop adapters. How do you know the output diameter?

Dune

Just ordered a set of Suppo 2814 motors that come with a 4mm nominal prop adapter to fit the 4mm motor shaft.

So what's the OD on that adapter? 5mm or 6mm?

I'm using Graupner 10 x 5 E-props. The Graupner site sells aluminum spacers but I may try and find something comparable at McMaster / the local hardware store, or make them on a lathe if I have time, so that I don't have to pay a bunch in shipping to get them here by the upcoming weekend.

The v-east spacers are ~7mm tall they say. You guys think this will work ok with the included prop adapters?

Thanks for the sanity check! It's a real bummer to get everything in and then have to wait another week cause you did the math wrong.

Last edited by a moderator:

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
I dont know about Suppo's but normally they are 6mm shaft adapters. Graupners, past the 9x5's, have a 8mm hole. Mcmaster does have these aluminum spacers that go from 6-8mm.

tstrike

pendejo grande
I got some of those from McMaster, they're a hair to long, but easy enough to cut down with a dremel, and they are tight as in need to tap them into the prop. I'd check quadrocopters.us since the op is in Seattle, I know they sell them.

Dune

I think Quadrocopter are in Montana. Anyway, they're out of stock right now! Shucks.

Looks like all McMaster has right now for metric spacers with 8mm OD --> M5 is the biggest hole.
http://www.mcmaster.com/#unthreaded-spacers/=hqv2iy

Edit: Just checked my prop stock and it's a little lower than I thought. Might have to make a v-east order after all.

Thanks dudes.

Last edited by a moderator:

Dune

Turns out everyone in the US is out of the prop spacer at the moment, v-east included.

Hmm, interesting. You did the Steel-Backed PTFE-Coated Bronze?