is my LiPo toast already?

So I have a 4s 5500 LiPo that I've only flown with a total of THREE times... It's worked pretty great as far as I can tell. I've balance charged it every time at <1s. I've never even discharged it below 40%!

I went to charge it today and my charger threw a cell balance error - looked at the voltages and it says 3 of the cells are at 3.8v and 1 is at 1.5v. Any idea how this could have happened? Did I just get a lemon of a battery, or is it possible I did something wrong? I'm still pretty new to this...

Also, any chance of saving this one, or time to recycle it already?

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?
A cell at 1.5v is bad. Have you checked it with another lipo checker in case the charger is being strange? I would put that lipo somewhere safe, like outside!

What brand lipo is it?

PeteDee

Mr take no prisoners!
Batteries do just fail, I had from new that was quite weird, totally dud cell, rewoked the pack to be a 3S rather than a 4S, use it on my ground station now, now other cells have failed since the first one.

Pete

It's a storm lipo from helipal. I don't have any other way of checking individual cell voltage, but I just checked the total voltage with my buck converter on the copter (it has led for total voltage in and out), and it reads 15.3v... totally fine! Maybe it is the charger? It works fine on my other batteries (same exact brand and model). Could it be a wiring problem on the balance lead?

PeteDee

Mr take no prisoners!
Fully charged pack should be 16.8V though, looks like the charger is right.

Pete

I am afraid I have to agree with the comments above, its likely toast perhaps you let it discharge too much or it was duff from the start. Don't be tempted to fly with it. As Ben says treat it with caution!