[Tutorial] Motor and propeller efficiency testing with a dynamometer

Jebarus

Hi guys,

I am a recent graduate of M.Sc. Mechanical Engineering from Ottawa, Canada. My colleague and I designed a dynamometer and motor tester specifically from UAVs and quad designers. We actually started this project after spending weeks to build our custom solution.

"
"

For the release official product release, here is a quick introduction to motor and propeller testing, as summarized in the video above. The tutorial is done with our RCbenchmark dynamometer, but is should be applicable to DIY solutions too.

Why testing your motors and propellers?
You must first ask yourself, what are your, or your end user's needs? This question is important, as it will help you know what parameters to optimize for.
  • Do you want to fly longer to film uninterrupted for longer periods?
  • Do you want to carry a larger payload?
  • Do you need more thrust and power to go faster, or to improve handling in strong winds?
  • Do you have overheating problems, and your application requires you to minimize failure rate?
The final choice of power system depends not only on the airframe and payload, but also on your application.

What parameters should I measure?
The motor

To fully characterize a motor, you need to measure the following parameters.
  • Voltage (V)
  • Current (A)
  • Throttle input (%)
  • Motor load or torque (Nm)
  • Speed (RPM)
The RCbenchmark software automatically calculates the following parameters for you:

• Mechanical power (Watts) = Torque (Nm) * Speed (rad/s)
  • Electrical power (Watts) = Voltage (V) * Current (A)
  • Motor Efficiency = Mechanical power / Electrical power