Lipo battery Discharge Test By Bulb

Diven

Lipo battery discharge is a trouble things, sometimes we plane to fly outdoors with our full charge battery, but at this time you have some other reasons had to cancel this plan, you may wait a long time to flight, so a full charge lipo battery is not good for storage, Lipo battery guide said the voltage for a long time storage should be 3.6V~3.9V range per cell, so we need to discharge the battery to reduced the battery’s voltage. And there is a test about used lamp to discharge the battery.

I have bought a used Gens Ace 2600mAh 6S battery on GensTattu, this is my first time to use Gens Ace 6S lipo, but it is a used battery, the new battery need about 50$, I bought it or my Protos 500.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-02-768x510.png

There are two bulbs, put them in series.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-05-768x510.png

First: charge the battery; I used a 12V power to charge my battery, so the max input power is about 180W, max charge current is 7A.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-07-768x510.png

Lipo-battery-discharge-test-08-768x510.png

This is the Internal resistance of battery.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-09-768x510.png

It spend about 17mins to finished fast charge.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-10-768x510.png

Because this battery is an used, I spend about 5 mins to charge my battery’s voltage form 3.8v to full, the capacity is about 1560mAh.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-11-768x510.png

This is a 2600mAh battery, according to the relationship between voltage and capacity of the lipo battery, 36% capacity’s voltage is about 3.8V, the real capacity is 2600 * 36% = 936mAh. So in theory, starting from this voltage charge until full charge in about 2600-936 = 1664mAh.

Using 6S battery discharge, the Lamps are very bright.
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-12-768x510.png

But after a short time, the lamps get very hot;
Lipo-battery-discharge-test-13-768x510.png

The battery’s voltage drops quickly,