Learning the Basics

sotomatic

Mad Scientist
Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby and just starting to explore AP/FPV on my DJI F450. I'm from a background of graphic design and have no real knowledge of basic electronics other than what I've learned to get my F450 airborne. I'm wondering where I should turn to get a fundamental understanding of radio communications, frequencies, etc.

I've notice a ton of jargon on these threads that I don't understand and would love to learn. Any suggestions for a new guy?

Malcr001

Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby and just starting to explore AP/FPV on my DJI F450. I'm from a background of graphic design and have no real knowledge of basic electronics other than what I've learned to get my F450 airborne. I'm wondering where I should turn to get a fundamental understanding of radio communications, frequencies, etc.

I've notice a ton of jargon on these threads that I don't understand and would love to learn. Any suggestions for a new guy?

Hi sotomatic, a fellow web designer here. If you want to learn FPV then its all about research. Unfortunatly theres no single source. Most the things Ive learnt all come from forums in fpvlab.com fpvcommunity.com and rcgroups.com (FPV section).

There was an FPV wiki going around one time but it never really kicked off.

Some links to get you started:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1355327
http://fpvlab.com/forums/showthread.php?265-Team-BlackSheep-system-setup-philosophies
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=182615

Basic FPV setup would be:
Fatshark dominator goggles with reciever
Video transmitter to mount on platform
Video camera (CCD or pixim based camera)

Acronyms:
LRS = Long Range System
UHF = Ultrahigh frequency (most LRS these days operate on the UHF band)
LOS = Line of sight, (some frequencies are LOS frequencies like 5.8ghz meaning that in order to obtain a good video signal there should be no obstructions between the transmitter and reciever)
RTF = Ready to fly