Helicopter versus Multirotor for Aerial Photography

Thakur Dalip Singh

Thakur Dalip Singh
I am new to this forum, and new to aerial photography by RC planes. Please tell me which is better and why better -Helicopter versus Multirotor for Aerial Photography.
I am photographer who want to do aerial photography with heavy pro cameras (2.5 Kg) with RC planes, i.e. Helicopters/ Multicopter/ Multirotor etc or fix wing also.
Pl help me to decide.
Also tell me any difference between Multicopter/ Multirotor.
http://landscapesofindia.com
View attachment 2168View attachment 2169

Attachments

• 01 (30).jpg
    01 (30).jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 416
  • Rivers into Sea.jpg
    Rivers into Sea.jpg
    132.5 KB · Views: 354

KellyR

Thakur,

Good question. I'm new to this hobby too & really look forward to the AP side of it. My thoughts would be that a multicopter would be better than a heli. You can split the load between several motors & there are several controllers, like the DJI Naza for example, that allow you to have things like auto stablization & altitude & GPS hold. Leaving you to concentrate a little more on the photo. If photos are your main goal I don't think a plane's a good idea because it has to be in constant motion. They are great for videos though. Although, personally, I haven't seen a plane with a payload of 2.5Kg.

Kelly

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
This has been covered a thousand times on RCgroups. In short it has a little to do with preference.

SRH(single rotor heli):

mechanical with computers to assist.
bigger payload
MAJOR balancing time for blades
Hard to get rid of vibrations
Advantage of auto-rotation
Bigger foot print in the air
more fragile
Sound way cooler starting up :)
Only 1 motor/esc
Do much better in wind

MRH(multi rotor heli)

A computer that flies
Smaller, better in tighter spaces.
Easy to replace props.
redundancy
Slightly less efficient
Dont do as well in wind