First Time Builder Advise Please : Octocopter or X8

roycruse

Ive been flying RC planes for over 20 years and helicopters (occasionally) for a few years (my helicopter flying is not great)

I run a 360 virtual tour photography company and have been offering aerial photography using compact cameras and planes or helis.

However - I need to up my game a bit and have decided to build a rig that can lift my DSLR

My main quandary at the moment is whether to go Octocopter or X8 (sorry of these are not the accepted terms)

I have been looking around and taking into consideration my budget and needs I am currently looking a self built aluminium airframe (carbon is way too expensive) and i like the look of the Hoverfly Pro controller.

My theory so far is that an Octocopter will have more total thrust but with the downside of the extra weight of the 8 arms. where as an X8 may save a couple of hundred grams but how does the total thrust compare when 2 motors are counter rotating one above the other. and can you run slightly steeper pitch props seeing as they are in effect helping each other move the same column of air.

My other main problem is finding boom clamps for my 3/4" (19mm) aluminium tubing for the motor mount end and the central frame end.

My current attempts to find anything have only turned up these two possibilities :-

http://www.esska-tech.co.uk/esska_eng_s/jaws_for_pipe_clamps_plastic_light_serie.html

or

http://www.supremeplumb.com/cgi-bin/DMdatabase.cgi?action=/home/suprem13/public_html/cgi-bin/home/Shop/Hydraulics/RSB_Clamp_Components.txt&item=00183

The first looks quite lightweight but the second would be great for vibration dampening but could be very heavy.

Any help or advice on these would be great.

Droider

Drone Enthusiast
Hi Roycruse and welcome to MRF..

What weight are you looking to lift? There are lots of vaired opinions on configurations.. I like my ADX3 (Y6) it offers some reduncency but I dont ever plan to use it!