DJI Released New Firmware 3.14 for Naza-M V1、V2 And Phantom!

Burntpixel

hoggdoc
I for one never thought I would see the day when some numbty boy could invest in a Phantom and without any experience go out there and start capturing some useful stuff with such a minimal cost. Sadly the pro end of the marketplace is going to get tougher.

Interesting observation you have made. I am a cinematographer/videographer by trade. I had looked into many aerial platforms so as to give some of my clients a different perspective of their business etc. Once I saw that the Phantom had the ability to steadily fly the new GoPro Hero 3 Black, I thought this could be an easy way to provide said visual service without the massive cash outlay for an octocopter. The liability insurance alone to fly a CineStar-8 or DJI S-800 with say a Canon 5D MkIII is costly.

I today shot a segment of a television commercial with guess what? A Phantom/ GoPro Hero 3 set up. No FPV or gimbal. Just some well planned out shots and a very calm early morning. The client is happy as is the agency.

Now with the release of the DJI gimbal,I can purchase a complete aerial outfit with gimbal and GoPro without FPV for $1800 excluded extra batteries. I can recoup the purchase price on 4 paying jobs! Would I like to fly a full S-800 or CineStar 8? Of course,but in reality,if my market is happy with Phantom/GoPro footage,I will gladly provide it. I would rather have 2 full Phantom/GoPro set ups sitting idle on slow weeks than an expensive octocopter.

So Simon you are saying your Naza-M V1 was brand new, never flown before you installed it? Curious, wonder if you got one from old stock or had been dropped somewhere along the way. I am convinced the correlation between shock trauma to the Naza and un explained fight characteristics has to do damaged internals.

Nope, not what I said at all.