Controllers, GPs, Autopilots

Gonesouth

I am a complete newbie at this, and considering how to proceed. for background, I'm a mechanical engineer, have extensive experience with controls and process automation, and have been a semi-retired innkeeper for the past 15 years. I have a good friend who has more than extensive electronics experience and skills available to help. I am actively looking for ways to make this hobby cost-effective.

Based on reading on the web, I am thinking of buying a cheap <$100 copter at Costco to learn how to fly a multicopter, and in parallel get a hexacopter parts package to build out. It looks to me that the easiest places to go wrong are in the controller choices.....after all motors, props, and ESC's are all cheap and easily replaced. I am thinking that I will quickly want a GPS and homing function in order to bring the unit home rather than losing it in the trees, whether I am pilot ot someone else is. I am also thinking that amateur video is probably in my future, so that a board that can do autopilot with waypoints is going to be my second major upgrade.......

Now, after reading hundreds of pages, I don't think I'm any closer to figuting out what I will need to have in control electronics and boards now or in the future. Is there somewhere that can tell me which boards will do these things and have a reasonable cost upgrade path? What pieces do i need with each board to upgrade, etc. Am I even right when I say that doing a programmed waypoint flight plan is what an autopilot does??

I would appreciate any help you can give me. I can generally follow instructions well if you will take the time to point me in the forward direction.

Thanks

Multirotorforums is good enough to get info about multicopter.

X6 will be good enough for a beginner who has no flight experience. It was easy to control and durable enough. And it just $47 and free shipping( X6 mini quad).