Choosing a Flight Controller

Kaelin

Abstract:
I am building my first quadcopter and am having trouble deciding on a flight controller. I am a Computer Science student and would like to have the most versatile set of abilities possible, as far as programming the quadcopter (e.g. possibly respond to certain inputs, such as processing a point cloud using OpenCV in order to navigate an area).

Current Knowledge:
I'm looking at using the ArduPilot system and currently have the PX4, APM 2.6, and the Pixhawk in my sights. I am inclined to go with the PX4 because it is slightly more powerful (more RAM + ARM based) and seems to be better for bleeding edge projects, among other things. However, the APM 2.6 seems to have WAY more support, in terms of tutorials, setting it up, and using it with peripherals, right now. As for the Pixhawk, it seems like a very powerful system with a lower level of flexibility hardware-wise (although I may be fine with this).

Questions:
Do I really need the seemingly more powerful PX4 for longevity of my projects/usefulness? If so, can you guys point me towards some helpful tutorials for it so that I can find resources I'm comfortable with understanding before making the final purchase?

Last edited by a moderator:

dazzab

If your requirements are programability and a like supportive community then in my experience your only choice would the Pixhawk. The PX4 is great for researchers as well but the Pixhawk is so close to it that I don't see any advantage to using it. I wouldn't consider the APM2.6 as it's 8 bit and a lot of the future developments simply will not run on it. It's a great flight controller and I think hitting it's limits will actually work in it's favour as a solid controller that will now go in to a phase of revisions only to make it better but not add any more functionality.

Bartman

Welcome to MultiRotorForums.com!!
Hi Kaelin,