XAircraft Calibration AHRS-S

Need some help. I'm new to the multicopters and have just recently build and flown the x650 V8. I need help with calibrating the AHRS. Some threads discuss placing the actual AHRS on a flat and level surface and then calibrate others explain placing a piece of glass on the rotor and then calibrate. The latter seems the better answer. Some explanation of how to calibrate the AHRS will help.

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
Just stick it as level as you can on top of your 1212. Then level out the whole heli as best you can. I used playing cards. then hit calibrate and voila, you are done!

I would take it that should you get the tops of the props perfectly level and then press calibrate the AHRS will calibrate the attitude as level - the AHRS is build into the body of the drone and it is impossible to measure that small little square as level.

To do this I was considering balancing the drone on the bottom props - I used four glasses with coasters. The drone standing on it's flimsy legs will be difficult to keep level. I would then level the drone by placing playing cards on the coasters until the top of the props were perfectly level. A piece of glass placed on top of the four props will make that easy to measure - once level then calibrate . Any comments

Bowley

I take the skids off and rest it on a level floor on the bottom prop nuts, If you have trouble with the AHRS maintaining calibration then use update firmware option in XA Centre. that was my experience anyway.

Well I have calibrated the AHRS - leveling the top prop nuts by placing a piece af glass on top of the drone and and with playing cards shimming the drone level wrt to the prop nuts of the top props. Now the drone drifts heavily to the left. Will this thing ever stand still ? Can you trim the drone on the DX8? how often do you need to recalibrate the AHRS ? The v8 drifted less without the camera mount cm130

Bowley