1001copters.com Aluminum vs Carbon Fiber

koop

I am brand new to the multirotor heli-craft world and am curious why 1001copters chose aluminum over carbon fiber. Does aluminum have better flight characteristics vs CF?

God morning ( evening ? ),

Why choosing aluminium vs CF ?
The CF is very very stiff and it could be a problem when you are hunting vibrations. In CF the vibrations are very well transmitted longitudinaly along of the carbon fiber.
Another problem is in case of crash: if you crash the frame in the direction of the carbon fiber, it wil transmit all the energy along the fiberdu to the stifness. It's rare but when it happens, you will break what is clamped at the end of this part (generaly center plate or electronics).

Final point: the CF is very costy and I don't think I will find lots of people that will want to buy a 800 or 900€ frame (I'm not as famous as Droidworks :D)

I still have to do vibrations tests on my frames bt I'm sure it's pretty good :)

DennyR

The important thing to understand about Carbon Fiber is that the tows of carbon have to be orientated along the lines of stress. Take for example the suspension of a modern F1 car. It is very strong along the lines where the loads are focussed but very fragile in most other directions. In the case of the 1001 copter frame those cut outs that make for a nice alum. frame would be riddled with stress raisers in anything but multi directional weaves of carbon. The fragile tows of carbon substrate must remain intact and not broken before curing if it is to deliver the strength/weight advantages.

They stopped making race cars from alum. 40 years ago because it is too heavy. As I recall, to save 1 pound through the use of titanium had a cost of 1000 pounds sterling (Back in the 80's).

I do think that maybe some Russian Titanium Tube manufacturers could provide a feasible solution to multirotor frame construction. Often used in aircraft seats

Last edited by a moderator:

helimac