£2-3k airframe?

dg2010

Firstly, apologies, I'm sure there have been a thousand similar threads.....I have been looking around for some weeks now but not 100% sure on what I should get.

I am a RC hobbyist with 15 years flight experience, most recently I have a number of FPV aircraft including Quadcopters, tricopters and fixed wing. I am handy with electronics and I am a good pilot so I have no concerns with building and flying one.

Photography is my second hobby and so I am planning to combine that with my RC experience and complete my BNUC-S by the end of this year.

My main concern is buying the right camera platform, as this is a lot of money. I know I will eventually need a second platform, but in the beginning I want to buy something which will give me the most flexibility.

My key requirements are:

1. Portability. I do not want a system that requires an hour to break down to travel or which requires a huge container to travel with. So it needs to sit in the boot of a regular car ideally.

2. Camera flexibility. I have a number of cameras including a Sony Nex5, Canon 650D and a Panasonic X920 camcorder. I want to be able to use all of these possibly, I understand this is mostly down to gimble design so the main concern will be with weight carrying capacity.

I was recommended something like the Droidworx X4 Co-axial as it meets the portability requirement, but I'm concerned the 4 control points being less stable compared to 6 or 8.

The S800 seems like a good easy option but being that I have many years of RC experience, I don't mind building something myself if I can make it better.

Or something like a Cinestar 6/8 seems within my budget but how easy is it to break down?

Thanks for your time :)

swisser

Easy. Flexacopter. Or if you want eight rotors, Kratos. Fabulous quality, takes down for transport in a few minutes at most. Note, 4 rotors are not inherently "less stable" than 6 or 8.

Benjamin Kenobi

Easy? You call that easy?