Hoverfly Correct Setup?

Hi All,

I'm really starting to doubt my setup and I was hoping I could run it past a couple of you guys in the forum who has many more years experience than myself.

My Setup:
Cinestar 6
Cinestar 3 Axis Gimbal
AXI 2814-22 Motors
Turnigy Plush 40 Amp ESC's
APC 14 x 4.7 SF props
HFP Flight Controller
4Cell 35C 5000maH Battery

Camera: GH2

All up weight is 5.2kg/11.5pounds

The problems I'm having is as follows:
  • Platform is sluggish, not terribly stable in a slight breeze. (I'd like to think that I have my gains pretty well setup)
  • Flight time: max 4 mins on a single 4 cell pack
  • Motors get hot: my 3 forward motors get hot but I suspect this is because I have a very slight imbalance in my platform, it is slightly tail heavy.
I'm thinking of changing my props from 14" to 13" would this make a difference? If it would what is the main things this would affect?

Any help regarding this would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Andre

StormRU

i have almost the same except I use Tiger Motors pancake MT4008 600kv, RCtimer 40a simonK, 2axis camera mount.

You need to use 2x 5000 to get better flight times and probably more efficient motors

StormRU

it is ok. but i have not had a chance to shoot a video yet. because built in roll compensation was not good. (haven't tested new firmware. it is raining all day here today) I have preordered Radian and waiting for it to arrive.

I have also some problems with GPS (may be a wire harness issue) + OSD does not work on my HFP :)
All the rest is ok ))

Last edited by a moderator:

I'm also struggling with the weather and time to test. I'm going to swop out my 14 x 4.7's with 12 x 3.8's which I have on the shelve to see if that does not make a difference. I know my payload is going to suffer but maybe it is worth while..

StormRU

I dont think that your instability problems are due to 14 props.
How did you mount your HFP to cinestar frame?