FPV using GoPro on a gimbal?

rcmike

Hi everyone. I have been flying my quad using my gopro as a flight camera as well. I have a camera gimbal on the way that I will stabilize through my Naza. Has anyone tried flying FPV through a stabilized camera on a quad? I know I will loose the tilting sensation so it will probably be a little harder to tell which way you are moving but will it be a problem? I can use a separate FPV camera but I would rather see what the quad sees to know what I am filming. I'll probably try it with just the GoPro anyway but just wondering how it worked out for other people.

steph280

I've pondered the same question, and the consensus by the experts over at rcgroups says this is not recommended, and in fact dangerous.

Most people use a separate fixed FPV camera, and a video switcher so you can sneak peek what the GoPro is doing.

rcmike

I have read that but I have been wondering how many people have actually tried it. I was thinking of a video switcher but was trying to keep everything as simple as I could. I may go that route. Thanks.

larobeaa

I have a mikrokopter okto with navi contoll, and fpv straight from the live feed of my dslr camera mounted on a gimbal works great for me:tennis: No aditional camera

Breezer1

Night Fury
Everything I've read so far points to using the gimbald mount un-stabalized, however, most guys say that putting the tilt servo to a channel on the transmitter that is related to a twist knob is a good idea in case there is something below you that you want to look at.
There is a thread I read recently about FPV flight making one feel motion sick. Perhaps the stabilized view adversly affects orientation. Liimited field of view and not having a seat of the pants gyro might be a bad combination. All of this is supposition on my part because I'm not completely there yet. I think based on a lot of recommendations I've read that I would not try the stabilized camera without a check pilot hooked to a buddy cord.