my first post here.. a couple q's re: quad or hex and what radio

picturedhere

Hello everyone. first let me say thank you to everyone for all of the information that I have already learned on here!! I would also like to especially tip my cap to Bartman for his posts and threads, as they have been especially helpful to me.
On to the question. I am going to be ordering stuff for my first multirotor build this week or next and have a few questions. I want to know everyone's opinion on whether i should start with a quad or a hexacopter. I will be starting with a gopro3 setup. however, I am a professional photographer and with that i already know that after flying a bit and feeling comfortable with things, i will want to add the capability of adding my better gear( 5dmkIII and lenses). So should i start with a quad and then when it's time to upgrade just buy a hex frame/additional motors/esc's and transfer the FC & fpv setup from the quad? or should i start with a hex from the start? I don't have a lot of money, so i don't want to spend money twice (if possible). I'm looking at the f450/f550 or tarot 680pro, but am open to suggestions if anyone thinks i'd be better served with a different setup. I have flown helicopters, but never a quad, but will be buying a cheap one to get the hang of it before flying the bigger setup.
In the end, what's mmost important is i will want capability of AV/AP with fpv through camera, so stability will be what's important, not agility and speed.
Also, i am having trouble deciding on a radio to buy. I haven't been able to find a thread comparing the benefits of any. Are there any decent radio's for $200? or should i just bite the bullet and buy a more capable/expensive one like a futaba 14sg. What are everyone's favorite radios and why?

To sum up mu long post:
1- should i start with a quad or hex?
2- are f450/550 and tarot 680pro decent setups for this application?
3- what are your preferred radios and why?