Hi there, from windy Wellington, New Zealand

Samsord

:livid: So Hi, Im Rory, I'm totally new to RC Flying, and Multirotors for that matter, although I have been fascinated with them (multirotors) since they first started appearing in the skies and on Youtube. I am going to start building them and have been collecting information with regard to this and have an, albeit rough, understanding of how they work and how one would go about building one. I intend to spend some money, so my budget isn't as restricted as some which makes it easier for a newbie, although for my first 2 builds I want to keep them under $1500 for both.

Video flyovers and aerial photography look amazing, so you know I'm going to try and mount a camera on a multirotor at some point, so I'm going to need to learn how to fly and how to build something that can lift! I have only owned and flown a 15cm-ish long RC helicopter (although I thought I was a natural), and spent a lot of time playing flight simulator games as far as flying experience goes.

I'm not sure how important GPS is really going to be for me, although I certainly see the utility and would like to build an autonomous drone with GPS for wayfinding and holding alt and pos etc.

I signed up because I want to share my experiences and I am looking for advise from experienced RC pilots and Multirotor DIYers. At some point I want to publish a few tutorials that cover the information I found to be the most illusive to find, like a simple series of diagrams showing different wiring configurations with standard parts!

I'm quite new to Forums in general too, so take it easy on me.

I don't know anyone locally who's into this hobby and it seems there is a lot you have to learn from experience so hopefully someone can pass on some of the lessons they learned from their experiences, before I start having painful and costly ones of my own :dread: