Esc question...

Gunter

Draganflyer X4
I'm planning a hexa build and just looking at all the esc's available! Daunting for a beginner like me. Do the esc's have to be perfectly matched to the motors, or can I go for the highest amp esc I can afford? That way I could easily upgrade to motors if I need to.

Maybe someone could suggest some figures for me-I'm looking to lift about 1.5kg on a hexa frame, what motors and esc sizes would you go for?

Thanks. Gunter.

DucktileMedia

Drone Enthusiast
I am ordering the avroto 2814's with the 30 amp esc from their site. I am not a pro on this by any means but 2 things I have learned are 1) the esc doesnt have to be the same output as the motor as the motor will only draw what you are giving it. But the other way around, obviously, would be bad, you don't want to give more than your motor can handle. And there will be a point where it is inefficient to have too small of an esc for the motor you are using. 2) It is recommended to get a high frequency PWM esc. Most boards seem to be friendly with higher refresh rates than the a lot of the cheapo (hobby king) esc's put out. Can someone confirm this? I am getting this info second hand and it does make sense. Prhaps some of the low end flight controllers dont make use of this but the popular brands will and is therefore worth it to get the best you can afford.

matwelli

Hi Gunter

The ESC needs to be rated for a higher current than the motor will draw at full load, because even at part throttle the individul current spikes are still very high

The best of the cheper ESC's are any based on the Hobbywing chip, as they give decent performance, and handle a 400hz update rate.

Turnigy Plush, RCtimer are both Hobbywing based, and so are any of the hobbyking ESC's that are compatable with the Turnigy ES programming card (as those ones use the hobbywing chip) - but i would personally go with the Turnigy plush or RCT as I have had the best relability with them