Skyzone/Boscam 500mw 5.8ghz video tx, any good?

cootertwo

Hi Bart. I was about to make a new thread, but just saw your question. OK, here it is, my opinion, based on owning both the Skyzone goggles, and the Fatshark Attitude SD ver2.
First of all, I'm a total newbee to this FPV stuff. I did all kinds of reading, viewing videos on the tube, etc. etc. I compared the specs, prices, between all the Fatsharks and the Skyzones, with the Skyzones having an apparent larger viewing area, and the front mounted camera, I ordered them. It wasn't until after my order had shipped, that I realized that the Skyzones DO NOT come with a camera, transmitter, or battery. OK, ordered an Immersion 600mw TX, and a Fatshark goggle battery, and 2 of the Fatshark spironet antennas. While waiting on my TX stuff to arrive, I connected the Skyzones to my DVD player. Hummm, dissapointment. They work, but the color is washed out, sorta like the gamma is too low. No way would I want to try to watch a movie with them on. After my Immersion TX arrived, I set the whole mess up, on my Phantom, ver 1.1.1. I used the hidden power supply lead from the Phantom, to supply the voltage for the TX, and my GoPro 3 black, as the camera for the FPV setup. Well, it works, but I was a little dissapointed in my now over $500 investment into FPV. Yes, I tried different channels, brightness/contrast adjustments, 2 different 600TVL cameras, etc. etc. THEN, after reading about some conflict between the Skyzone (Boscam?) and Immersion TX's, I contacted the company I bought the Skyzones from, and they agreed that there was a problem, and that I should use the Boscam TX. Sooooo, I ordered one of those, in 600mw. It was worse! Horizontal lines, much less range. At this point, I was totally pissed. Soooo, I ordered a Fatshark Attitude SD ver2 "kit". I say "kit" because it comes with everything, except battery for the goggles. What a difference! Even with the included 250mw TX, vibrant colors, better range, less interferen