Parts List

Can someone point me in the right direction. I have little experience in the world of RC. The closest I got was building a Subaru rally car that came in bits on the front of a magazine every fortnight. Cost a small fortune and I could have bought the same model in my local model shop for half the price.

My long term goal? I want to fly a quad with a mounted camera and a pair of goggles to give me that flying experience I have seen many forum members do.

In the mean time I want to start with the basics and learn how to fly and control a quad. I want to build my own quad bit by bit. I know I need a frame. What else do i need and in what order? Are there any good tutorials/videos?

I am thinking of getting the HobbyKing X525 frame mainly because if it crashes, I wont be sobbing. Any other alternatives? Just looking to build my first and progress from there.

Thanks for any help.

tombrown1

You'll need a frame, esc's, motors, props, a flight controller, and batteries.

Start with a Blade MQX. As you're learning to fly that, start building one from scratch. There are lots of resources on this forum. Start with the scratch built multirotors section.

Good luck,

Tom

gtranquilla

RadioActive
Good advice from TomBrown1...... Blade MQX BNF vc/w cheap entry level 4 channel fhss 2.4Ghz RC radio or buy the Quad only and buy a really good RC radio to go with it..... i.e., 8 to 14 channel Spectrum or Futaba 2.4 Ghz...... not a parkflyer RC system if you plan one day to fly expensive equipment a long distance. Choose your DIY parts carefully or you may end up like myself and others with a large surplus of parts in your garage, too good to throw away but not what you need to get an MR into the air. And don't buy undersized batteries that get used once only when you discover you can only get 5 minute flights with them.

RobertsUp